Evans the Death LP

order number 9279206


ready for shipment
delivery time approx. 1-3 working days

€14.62 *
Comes with a digital download! Named after the undertaker in Dylan Thomas’s Under Milk Wood, Evans the Death weaves a distinctive magic, coupling main songwriter Dan Moss’s gift for melody with Katherine Whitaker’s unique vocal stylings. The young British band channels the exuberance of youth via the prism of five pop music obsessives, effortlessly blending precocious musical literacy with the kind of unerring self-awareness which makes for a perfectly pitched pop sensibility.

Comprised of twelve blistering tracks, the band’s self-titled debut full-length was recorded late summer 2011 with ex-Test Icicle and current Warm Brains man Rory Atwell (Veronica Falls, Male Bonding, The Vaccines). Both “Threads” and “I’m So Unclean” feature on the album, as does their current release, the infectious and exhilarating “Telling Lies,” but in truth the record is chock-full of bona fide classics, from the hi-octane opener “Bo Diddley” to the psychedelic pop of “Catch Your Cold” and the epic “Morning Voice” (on which Whitaker’s vertiginous vocal delivery is given free rein). With their infectious and frenetic brand of guitar pop making them one of the most exhilarating new groups around, Evans The Death is certain to make a big impression in 2012.

This item is tagged as:
  • alternative
  • garage
  • indie

related items