Sounds Of New Music LP
Label: Modern Silence

order number SW27476


ready for shipment
delivery time approx. 1-3 working days

€15.00 *
Sounds of New Music is a collection of 18 compositions from the 1920s to the mid-1950s representing attempts at a "new means of musical expression." Some use familiar instruments in new ways, while others experiment with new instruments; the formats of the compositions range from structured musical scores written for orchestra to electronically altered music using tape-recording devices. Composers include Edgard Varèse, Henry Cowell, and John Cage, whose "Dance" is played on a transformed Steinway piano that gives the music an almost primitive quality. Liner notes describing the new music feature a substantial article on Concrete Music.
This item is tagged as:
  • Avantgarde
  • Modern Classical
  • Musique Concrète
  • Reissue

related items